Photos: NCARB Scholars in Professional Practice

On August 2-4, 2018, 10 professional practice professors gathered at NCARB’s office in Washington, DC, to take part in our inaugural NCARB Scholars in Professional Practice training event. Professional practice classes are designed to prepare students to handle the day-to-day challenges of working at an architecture firm.

During the three-day event, attendees had the opportunity to explore various teaching methods and receive training on curriculum development.

With varying levels of teaching experience, program size, and backgrounds, the professors also had the opportunity to discuss best practices for engaging students and preparing them for real-world practice.

NCARB President David L. Hoffman, FAIA, NCARB, Hon. FCARM, and National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) Associate Director Ellen S. Cathey, AIA, highlighted the intersection of professional practice courses and a program’s ability to earn NAAB accreditation.

Attendees also learned from subject matter experts, who delivered presentations on ethics, marketing, legal obligations, and more, with the goal of expanding and informing the topics covered in professional practice classes.

Following the success of this year’s event, NCARB hopes to continue the Scholars program, bringing more educators together to enhance the delivery of professional practice courses. Through this training, we hope that professors are able to engage their students on a deeper level as they explore the role and responsibility of the architect in everyday practice.

2018 NCARB Scholars

  • Shavon T. Charlot, AIA, LEED AP BD+C (Tuskegee University)
  • Randy Deutsch, AIA, LEED AP (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • Marcus M. Farr (American University of Sharjah)
  • Kevin Jones, AIA (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)
  • Erin Pellegrino (Cornell University)
  • Elizabeth Petry, AIA (University of Hartford)
  • Heather Philip-O’Neal, AIA, NOMA (New York Institute of Technology)
  • Benjamin Vargas, FAIA (Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico)
  • Eric Ward, AIA (Lawrence Technological University)
  • Greg Wynn, AIA, NCARB (California Polytechnic State University)