Licensure Task Force Looks to Evolve the Path to Licensure

The paths to architectural licensure, with their elements of education, experience, and examination, can be enhanced as the profession and its preparatory tools evolve. Accordingly, we have joined together as members of a Licensure Task Force (LTF), formed by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), to explore a path that better integrates the existing elements of the path that can result in licensure at the time of graduation.

As part of our developmental process, we are including the following options in our discussions:

  • Earlier access to the ARE prior to graduation.
  • A streamlined approach to the Intern Development Program (IDP) that provides an optimized internship experience.
  • A partnered approach to an integrated process that involves the academy, licensing boards, and the current and future profession.

Representing the five collateral architectural organizations and reflective of a diverse geographic and demographic perspective, the LTF is committed to delivering a model(s) that reduces redundancy and creates a more efficient path to licensure.

The LTF will continue to communicate our progress with our stakeholders over the coming months.

To learn more about the LTF, click here.

Licensure Task Force

Chair: Ronald B. Blitch, FAIA, FACHA, NCARB
2012-2013 NCARB Past President and Louisiana Board Member
New Orleans, LA

Mike Armstrong
NCARB Chief Executive Officer
Washington, DC

Mark I. Aspaas, AIA, NCARB
Practitioner and former NCARB Board Member
Sioux Falls, SD

Lynn Axelroth
NCARB Public Director
Philadelphia, PA

David Cronrath, AIA, NCARB
Dean, School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation, University of Maryland
College Park, MD

Pasqual Gutierrez, AIA
California Board Member
Ontario, CA

Amy Kobe, CAE, Hon. AIA
Ohio Architects Board Executive Director
Columbus, OH

Nick Mancusi, Associate AIA
American Institute of Architecture Students Representative
Scottsdale, AZ

Norm Millar, AIA
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture President
Los Angeles, CA

George Miller, FAIA, NCARB
New York Board Member and Former AIA President
New York, NY

Gordy Mills, FAIA, NCARB
Former NCARB President
Dubuque, IA

Jenny Pelc, AIA, LEED APBD+C
Recently Licensed Architect and Educator
Folsom, LA

Amy Perenchio, AIA, LEED APBD+C
National Architectural Accrediting Board Representative
Portland, OR

William R. Ponko, AIA, NCARB
Former Indiana Board Member and Educator
Mishawaka, IN

Jeff T. Potter, FAIA
Former AIA President
Dallas, TX

Miguel A. Rodriguez, FAIA
American Institute of Architects Representative and Florida Board Member
Coral Gables, FL

John P. Sullivan, FAIA, NCARB
New York Board Member
White Plains, NY

Dennis S. Ward, AIA, NCARB
NCARB Second Vice President
Florence, SC

Zerrin Sayar
NCARB Director, Administration
Washington, DC

Stephen Nutt, AIA, NCARB, CAE
NCARB Senior Architect/Advisor to the CEO
Washington, DC


The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ membership is made up of the architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and provides a certification program for individual architects.

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; provides to Member Boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States and Canada.